Taking Risks

26 02 2012

The person who risks nothing, does nothing, has nothing, is nothing, and becomes nothing.  He may avoid suffering and sorrow, but he simply cannot learn and feel and change and grow and love and live.

– Leo F. Buscaglia

What are you willing to risk?

I am usually a daredevil–never physically though.  I plunge headfirst into things without really thinking much about it knowing fully well that it could result to a failure, a broken heart, or a major defeat.  But it also promises equally the chance of success, a better future, a beautiful relationship, or a major victory.

But when I hesitate to do something, I know something is not in place.  For months, I have put off one important thing.  Knowing fully well what it’s for and what it’ll get me.  I am all for it but I’ve kept on putting it off.

I guess at the back of my head I know that when things have changed and when I do not feel like it’s worth jumping headfirst for anymore, it’s not worth the risk.  Wanting something so bad means knowing you’re getting something out of it too.  Perhaps when you no longer get that something, there really isn’t any point in doing anything.

And that’s my cryptic Sunday message for myself.  🙂

Actions

Information

4 responses

13 03 2012
Dusty Miller

“Leap and the net will appear.”
~ Zen Saying

13 03 2012
iamsorceress

🙂 When you’ve taken that leap and have made that your mantra from the very start only to hit yourself in the head over and over again, sometimes you wonder if it’s time to go back to the basics and look before you leap. Sometimes being self-preserving is your only option. Especially when you realize that when the dust settles, you’re really just on your own.

14 03 2012
Dusty Miller

Thank you for your reply.
Let me first say that I admire your insight and awe-inspiring writing.

Perspective is only a matter of perception. Your perception is your perception. Just remember that other people’s perceptions of the same situation would differ from yours. Have you seen the Monkey Business Illusion?
This video shows how oblivious we are to things around us when we are focused on one thing. Even if we think we know what to look out for in the video, there is a chance that we will miss out on some very obvious things happening right in front of our eyes. Our brains play tricks on us all the time and will continue to trick us to see things the way we want to see them. This is a good illustration and reminder that we need to re-examine the way we think before we over-estimate our ability to perceive things. What we “see” may not be the entire picture, and it certainly does not represent the entire “truth”. That leaves lots of room for openness and compassion. Our first impressions are sometimes inaccurate.
Are you sure your perception of the situation is accurate?
There is an age old debate about self preservation vs. selfish preservation.
Self preservation is a law of nature. It is essential that we have our fundamental needs met. On the other hand, if we ask or require something of someone that we are not willing to return it becomes selfish preservation. It is a paradox. The more we demand for ourselves the less we get.

“When we quit thinking primarily about ourselves and our own self-preservation, we undergo a truly heroic transformation of consciousness.”
Joseph Campbell

14 03 2012
iamsorceress

You’re back. It’s been a long time since I’ve interacted with anybody here. But I haven’t really written in a long time so… thank you. 🙂

I’ve always acknowledged the fact that I’m not always right. There’s a huge part of me that hopes I’m wrong most of the time and that someone would point them out to me. That resets the balance in my life.

You’re right. But it’s also a two-way street. The same principle applies to everybody. Could it just be me who’s on selfish preservation, if I am really on that path? There was a time when I couldn’t care less what I’d get. But there’s nothing I can do about it anymore. It may be selfish for me. It may also be real self-preservation. But as nobody cares for myself anymore but me, isn’t it just about right that I stay on this path? Besides, I already lost. I’m sure she didn’t win. But I guess I’m just not worth winning over either. 🙂

Leave a Reply

